DIY Step ‘n Wash

Leave a comment

stepnwash10

I’m not a professional woodworker but I do have fun with a few small tools.

I was able to make this stool for 1/4 of  the  price it would cost to buy one and it was pretty easy to make so I thought I would share.

Using a jigsaw cut 2 pieces out of your choice of wood into an “L” shape.  I used 2 pieces of pine shelving – 16″ x 36″ each

L1

Drill holes big enough to get your jigsaw blade through to cut out the handles.

Use the extra pieces from the sides for the steps. The 1st step is 7 1/2″ high and the top step is 15″ high.

Measure and drill 4 pilot holes for the screws on each step side and drill a bigger hole to countersink the screws and add wooden plugs to cover the screws.

how to countersink a wood screw here

L2

Sand all the edges and handles, then paint it or stain it.

To personalize it trace your pattern onto tracing paper then transfer it onto the stool using white or black graphite paper.

stepnwash2

stepnwash3

stepnwash4

stepnwash5

stepnwash6

Once the 1st side was painted I retraced it onto tracing paper and flipped it to do the other side.

I kept a picture on my phone and my computer to refer to while I painted the second side.

You could do your personalizing before you put it together which would make it easier to maneuver while you’re painting

stepnwash8

Lay the stool down on a piece of mdf , trace it and cut out for a back piece. Glue and nail it on.  I measured and added 2 front pieces under each step for extra support (optional).

I finished it off with a coat of outdoor water based varnish that will protect it from all the water splashes from little people climbing up to wash their hands, brush their teeth or help with the dishes etc 🙂

stepnwash11

❤❤❤ little miss independent ❤❤❤

Anyway 😉

Leave a Reply

